just some ramblings about blogging and that time I went on a TD binge

In a moment – inspiration. In another moment – inspiration lost. But some remnant of it is still there, like ripples on the surface of a lake, hinting at something that’s passed.

Sometimes I wonder what I used to write about before I started writing so much about my holiday to Japan, and about this Meditations book I’m reading. Well, I suppose it’s easy enough to look back at my blog archives and see that it’s just a bunch of random ramblings.

Sometimes it really amazes me that people actually read the things I write here. It amazes me even more when I don’t even know the people in real life – they’re just people who happened to stumble upon my blog for one reason or another. From what I’ve read on other people’s blogs (of similar posts to where this one’s headed), it seems like a lot of bloggers go through similar feelings. But that doesn’t make it any less incredible or any less awe-inspiring. Perhaps it makes it even more so. I’m quite sure I’ve written about all this before, but, seriously, it never ceases to amaze me.

I heard somewhere, sometime ago (it was probably some snippet off some morning TV show) that the social media platform that is generally most detrimental to a person’s self-esteem is Instagram. Although I do not use Instagram, this did not surprise me. I knew there was a reason I stayed away from that.

I would like to think that blogging would be one of the more beneficial “social media” platforms for a person’s well-being. I know it’s gotten me through a lot.

And I don’t just mean that writing about stuff (“and other things”, as my blog tagline says) has been what’s pulled me through (although that’s a big part of it). But reading blogs has become quite a significant part of my life. It’s reassuring to know that other people – even complete strangers – go through very similar experiences, and ponder the same things, and also feel compelled to write about all of it.

But it’s not all about the similarities. It’s also wonderful to read and learn about all the different things people experience from all over the world. In a way, I’ve learnt a lot from reading other people’s blogs. I particularly like blog posts that are thought-provoking, or challenge my way of thinking, prompting me to try to see things differently, or reconsider my perspective.

Of course, there are also blogs that are primarily for pure entertainment. Who doesn’t appreciate a good laugh or a good story (or both)?

But there’s something else… I’m not quite sure how to put it.

There was a time earlier in the year when I was feeling particularly low – inexplicably sad (or perhaps it was post-holiday blues?) Anyway, I was feeling quite emotionally stuck. I remember going on my computer one night – more because it was routine/habit than any particular reason – and I logged in to WordPress – also because this was routine, rather than because I was seeking anything in particular. As luck would have it, it was a Thursday night, which meant Thursday Doors! (Actually, it might’ve been a Friday night, and I just hadn’t been on WP on Thursday. Being in Australia means I get to Thursday before a lot of Thursday Doors participants, but even on my Thursday nights, there are usually already a lot of links uploaded.)

Anyway, the day of the week doesn’t really matter. Point is that I kind of went on a TD binge, and went through so many TD blog posts, and I actually felt really good afterwards. Well, I felt better at least. I think it was just something about knowing there are all these lovely people out in the world, all coming together (virtually) for this one seemingly simple weekly blogging event. And, yes, maybe part of it was also “distraction therapy” or whatever they call it, but I do believe it did help put my mind on a different track to whatever track it was on beforehand.

(BTW, if you don’t know what Thursday Doors is, what have you been doing? Have you even been reading my blog? Just go to Norm’s blog and find out all about it. He started it.)

(Thanks Norm)

I’m writing this at my new place, listening to classical/orchestral music, and feeling like all is right with the world (or at least ok for now). Well, except that I don’t have internet at the new place yet (because I haven’t been bothered / haven’t had time to set it up), so, really, I’m writing this on Friday night, in a Word document, and I’ll have to save it, and post it later. But things are ok otherwise. I hope you’re feeling ok too (if not, maybe try browsing some Thursday Doors posts).

P.S. About the classical music: Lately I’ve felt like I can’t stand listening to mainstream radio: there are too many ads, there’s too much talking, and I don’t particularly like the songs (probably because it’s usually the same stuff played over and over again). I still listen to that same playlist I mentioned in a previous post, but that’s only on my phone and my other computer (which hasn’t been moved over here yet because it’s still at my parents’ place because there’s internet there), so I mostly listen to the radio here. It is also rather soothing.

6 thoughts on “just some ramblings about blogging and that time I went on a TD binge

  1. I relate so much to the things you’re saying here. There is a depth to WordPress that makes my time here worthwhile in a way that feels like genuine connection with other people. There IS something so heartening about reading other blogs. Before I started my blog 3 years ago I had no idea that other bloggers would be the ones to read me or that I’d come to feel as invested as I do in other bloggers. And you’re right about the surprise of finding people, some so far away or leading such different lives. It’s like reading a lot of memoirs in a way. And see, for whatever reason *I* am surprised/impressed to find this stranger in Australia who writes thoughtful, reflective posts that resonate with me.

  2. I like blogs that ramble a bit. I like getting to know people from the quiet comfort of my kitchen table. I read blogs by some pretty diverse people, (though I used to be better at this. There seems to be a self-selection thing going on lately that is getting me down.) Anyway, some are funny, some are sweet, some are theological, some are irreverent, some are DIY in areas that don’t even interest me. What they all have in common is that they seem to write in their own voices, are uniquely themselves, and blog regularly. I don’t really care what subject a person writes on, as long as she brings herself and isn’t a total meany.

  3. I hope it’s not too long before you feel at home in your new place. I’ll be doing the same thing in a couple of months but I’m trying to see it as a new adventure, rather than leaving friends I’ve made here. We’ll be nearer family, so that’s a big bonus.

Please leave a comment (or two!) here

