the good life

A few weeks ago, when I was watching the morning news, they did a story about this really expensive house that had just been put up for sale in America. Supposedly the asking price was over $30 million (AUD), and the place included a cinema, bowling alley, and fully -stocked candy bar, amongst other “standard luxury” things like a pool, and a garage full of fancy cars.

Anyway, the features of the property aren’t important. Not to me, anyway. And even if someone happened to give me this house, firstly that’d be really suspicious (it has “scam” written all over it), and secondly I’m not sure I’d even move to America for a place like that (no offence to America – it’s more that I’m quite attached to living in Australia).

So why, then, am I still thinking about this house?

Well, I’m not really. I’m thinking about the actual news story.

See, the hosts of this particular show interviewed the real estate agents that were tasked with selling the house. One of the things they discussed was the intended market, and if it even existed.

One of the agents responded by basically saying that there are a lot of multimillionaires and billionaires who want to spend lots of money to live really well. He said it was this desire to “live rich, not die rich”.

So this was several weeks ago, and this phrase still floats in and out of my mind. Remember, though, that I watched this interview around the time that I was paying for new appliances and furniture for the place I’m moving to, and also paying for various holiday-related things (accommodation, travel, etc). I was basically spending a lot of money for what one might call “non-essential” things (by which I mean I could’ve bought a cheaper fridge, or chosen cheaper hotels, but I didn’t).

Of course, I didn’t spend outside my means – that’s not the issue – but it was a big outlay in a small space of time, which is something I’m not used to.

And then I see this interview with this real estate agent, presumably without any qualifications in life coaching (can people get officially qualified for that?) and he’s not even encouraging people to “live rich” – he’s just saying that that’s what some people do – but this simple phrase seems to have helped me see the “big picture”, and come to terms with my recent expenses.

But, of course, I’m regarding the word “rich” as pertaining to more than just finances.

There are various experiences, adventures, conversations, relationships that can make a life “rich”. There’s also food and books and films and music.

So, yeah… While I’m definitely still not considering trying to buy a multimillion dollar mansion any time soon or, indeed, in my entire lifetime, I think there’s some merit in this “live rich” thing.

Within reason, of course (I feel like a lot of what I do is tempered by those two words…)

4 thoughts on “the good life

  1. I think you nailed it with riches being more than finances. Is it just me or do “rich” people never seem to behave like they have enough?

    It’s not about how much money I have, how big my house is, or whether or not I have all the newest and greatest toys. Those aren’t riches.

    It’s about enjoying what I have. It’s about taking pleasure in doing things while I’m able and not waiting for some magical day in the future that might never come. That’s living rich!

    • Indeed, they never seem to be satisfied, always seeking the next thing.
      I like what you said about taking pleasure in doing things while you’re able (I suppose your blog reflects that too!) Totally agree! It’s a good mindset to have.

  2. There is currently a house for sale in Bel Air for $240 million. Yes, you read right. I think it’s the most expensive house in America. Even if I had that kind of money to buy it (and for the upkeep and insane property taxes), I would never, ever buy something like that. I think it’s offensive. How much house does one need? Why would I want a bowling alley and a movie theatre in my house? So I would never go out? If you are that rich, you should use your money to better humanity (and buy a very nice house or two but nothing like that).

Please leave a comment (or two!) here

