scar

Over the last few days, this song has been drifting in and out of my head:

It’s kind of an old song – an older song – and I don’t think I’ve heard it anywhere recently, but I still like it as much now as I did back in 2004 when it was released. Perhaps it’s just one of those songs that randomly reappear out of nowhere, but maybe it was also that line, doesn’t that make you shiver, the way things could’ve gone…

Watching the MV again, after all these years, made me smile. It reminded me of how my adolescent self would’ve appreciated that she wasn’t a typical female artist/performer (in appearance or style of music). I’m sure I must’ve liked this MV back then too, even if I haven’t thought about it much, and wouldn’t have been able to describe it to you now had I not just watched it.

There is no pretence of grandeur and no allusion to the celebrity life in the MV, and, although my younger self was apparently always drawn to fame, I’d like to think that this made me like Missy Higgins even more – perhaps even admired her to some degree.

But I don’t think I was ever one to care too much about the celebrities themselves. If I liked a song, then I liked the song; I wasn’t overly concerned about who the artist was, what they looked like, where they were from, etc.

Sometimes I like songs just because they sound good, but I’m also partial to songs with deeper meaning, or songs that resonate with me in some way. So maybe this song came back into my head not because I was wondering about the way things could’ve gone, but because the song is essentially about finding lessons and moving forward:

And so that I do remember to never go that far,
Could you leave me with a scar?

Please leave a comment (or two!) here

