retail torture

I’ve never really liked shopping. Well, unless I’ve got something in particular that I need to buy (like, really need to buy) or if I’m buying gifts for friends – in those cases I don’t really mind because there’s a solid purpose. Casual shopping and retail therapy does not tend to work for me.

I think the main reason I don’t like shopping is because I really don’t like buying things that I don’t need, but I also feel vaguely dissatisfied about not buying anything. Basically, it’s a lose-lose situation: If I buy something I didn’t really need (which is the case a lot of the time), then I tend to get buyer’s remorse and wonder why I thought that was a good idea in the first place. On the other hand, if I exercise some restraint and don’t buy anything at all, I’m still disappointed because it feels like a waste of time.

Usually it’s just better to not go shopping at all, but sometimes I forget that. Actually, sometimes I get this weird notion that maybe if I just go out and browse around, I might actually find things that I “need” to buy, or that I should buy. When this happens, and I go out shopping, it usually doesn’t take long for me to realise that it was, indeed, a bad idea.

And I don’t think online shopping is any better. I mean, it’s not the walking around or the people that I dislike about actual in-store shopping. If anything, online shopping might be worse because you’ve got so much more you can browse through and get lost in. Honestly, though, I’ve never really shopped online; I think maybe I should stay away from that. But I suppose it might be better  to shop online because if I quickly realise that I’m wasting my time, I can just close the browser and go do something else; whereas if I’m out shopping, I still have to get home or at least leave the shopping centre, and that takes more time and effort…

Well, I suppose there’s always the possibility of food and the company of others. Usually the drain of shopping is softened by the chance to eat out and/or chat to other people. I went shopping one afternoon on the week-end and, if it wasn’t for the chocolate/raspberry milkshake and the chance to hang out with my sister and brother-in-law for a bit, I probably would’ve thought the whole thing was a waste of time. But I was quite content with how that afternoon went. (I didn’t buy anything though.)

And it was on that particular afternoon that I was thinking about why I don’t like shopping, and I figured all this out, so that’s a plus too, right?

6 thoughts on “retail torture

  1. sum-wear, in-sighed, awl uvvuss, whut yoove said (rittn) is a phactoid we awl “know.” some, many, most? how-so-ever, refuse to actually “know” that. some-1 said we livid inna material whirled, and some think it’s imaginary, and some say that the spoon can be bent becuzz there ain’t no spoon.

    on the other hand (be-sigheds havveeng diffyruntual phingurz), i think i am sort of “outside of all that” and will some day disappear. maybe i allreddee have .

  2. I shop for technology. It’s always interesting to see new gizmo and gadgets out in the market and see what price-tag they got. It’s kinda like a hobby. perhaps shopping for food ingredients suits you if you enjoy cooking? Always different flavour to try.

  3. Pingback: ’twas the month before Christmas | pistachio conspiracy #63

Please leave a comment (or two!) here

