in the middle

It feels like it has been a very, very long time since I last wrote anything here. The post from last week was actually scheduled the week before, so I suppose it’s technically been about two weeks since I actually wrote anything here; and it actually does feel really weird – almost like I’ve neglected a good friend.

But I’m still here.

I think it’s mostly just because I’ve been finishing work late these last two weeks, plus other things that have been happening, and I’m just tired by the time I get home and have dinner. Sometimes I end up on YouTube, watching random music videos like this one:

And I’ve still been reading other blogs. Now and then, I might see someone write a post apologising for an extended absence and/or for not reading or commenting on the usual blogs they read. Not that I think it’s conceited (I really don’t think it is …mostly), but I find it a bit weird that people apologise for that sort of thing. Blogging isn’t really a proper responsibility or something that must be done consistently. I mean, life happens, right?

I suppose it’s like there’s a feeling of obligation to these people we’ve formed connections with via this medium. I’ll admit I’m not immune to this. If I read something that provokes thought or emotion, I will tend to make an effort to comment, or at least leave a “like”. Sometimes I do feel a little bad when I don’t comment, or when I only “like” a post without leaving a note to say why. I dunno, I suppose it feels “empty” in a way.

But, again, I don’t think there’s really an obligation to do anything. Just don’t want to offend or slight others, I guess.

Is it too much to include more than one MV in the one post? Well, I’m gonna do it anyway. The one above reminds me of a friend I used to work with. That song was part of her diverse music repertoire. The one below, I’ve realised recently, makes me think of a friend I work with currently. I’m not entirely sure where the connection comes from, but it’s there. Maybe it’s all of these deep & meaningful conversations…

Please leave a comment (or two!) here

