tomorrow, I don’t know

I’ve taken a liking to the song “Reality” by Lost Frequencies (ft Janieck Devy). Last night I listened to it on loop for an entire hour, up until I went to bed. Even so, it’s not surprising to me that when I woke up this morning, and as I went about my day, I seemed to have every other song playing in my head apart from “Reality”.

It’s kind of weird how the mind works like that. It’s just like those days when I might listen to a song – maybe only half of it – and then this will be followed by countless other, better songs …And yet, the next morning, it’ll be that half-listened-to song that will be in my head.

Sometimes I won’t have heard a song for what seems like years and years, but one day it’ll just spontaneously appear from the depths of my memory, like a jack-in-the-box that’s finally been wound enough.

“Reality” played a lot on the radio and TV while I was in Rocky (I watched a lot of Channel V and Max while I was there). Perhaps I’ll always associate that song with Rocky, or at least with my memory of that time in Rocky. Perhaps not. At least it kind of captures the uncertainty and just “going with the flow”.

I think it’s a great chilled out summer song. I was a little bit afraid that I’d get sick of listening to it if I had it on repeat for an entire hour, but I could probably listen to it all day and still like it. And I would probably still not have it stuck in my head the next day.

Such is life.

3 thoughts on “tomorrow, I don’t know

  1. The danger of listening to the same song/s:
    I used to listen to Delta’s debut album on repeat, all day long for probably like 2 years. I thought I’d never get sick of it because it was so great. Now, 12 years later, it takes a little bit (or a fair amount) of effort to not skip the songs from that album…

    • But, it’s definitely true that you link certain songs to a certain period of time in your life. Because whenever I hear those songs, images of high school flashes through.

    • Probably also partly because your music tastes of changed (?)
      There are plenty of songs that I reckon I’d never get sick of …but then a few months/years pass and I just completely forget those songs existed in the first place

Please leave a comment (or two!) here

