Breakfast at Tiffany’s

Usually after I finish reading a book, I write a post about it. It’s a way to share the things I loved about each book, and a way for me to keep a record of what I’ve been reading.

This week, I finished reading Truman Capote’s “Breakfast at Tiffany’s”. As much as I enjoyed the book, I don’t feel compelled to write a post about it. I feel like it’s well-known enough that those who should read it, will read it; it doesn’t need to come with a recommendation from me.

I watched the movie version a long time ago (maybe a few years ago) and I honestly don’t remember much from it other than random, fragmented scenes. I do know, however, that I liked the film enough to add the book to my TBR list. I know also, now, that the book and film are quite different, but I’m not sure which I prefer. (If it makes sense, I’m sort of comparing the after-effects of each, rather than the actual content. It seems that I’m much better at remembering the emotions I’m left with after finishing a book/film than I am at remembering the actual details of the story.)

Let’s just say that I’m glad that I have my own copy of “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” (bought it at the Lifeline Bookfest for just $1 or something) because I have a feeling that I’ll re-read it at some stage in my life, or I might want to lend it to a friend. If nothing else, there’s something comforting about glancing over at my bookshelf and seeing it nestled there amongst my other favourite books. It can be my cure for the mean reds.

9 thoughts on “Breakfast at Tiffany’s

  1. You might wanna pick up The Great Gatbsy if you haven’t already. A lot of parallels with Breakfast at Tiffany’s πŸ˜€

    • “The Great Gatsby” has been on my TBR list for way too long, I reckon! I might prioritise it now, knowing that there are parallels to “Breakfast at Tiffany’s”. Thanks for the recommendation!

  2. I’ve been meaning to read this one for a while – I really liked the film, not least because it’s the only thing I’ve seen George Peppard in other than the A-Team… Mickey Rooney protrayal of the Chinese landlord is pretty offensive but different times I suppose. It’s a good film though and I always thought the book would be worth a look. I think you’ve knocked it a few places up the list of books I’m definitely going to read one day if i can find the time…

    • Haha yep, there’s always the issue of time! Fortunately, “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” is a pretty short book, so I’m sure you could squeeze it in to your reading schedule πŸ˜‰ It’d be interesting to see what you think of the book vs film

    • Yep, I know πŸ˜‰
      What’s weird for me, though, is that I can’t pinpoint exactly why I like the book so much, and I think that’s the main reason I want to read it again (even though I only just read it)

    • Yeah, I don’t remember much from the film, but I remember it seemed more cheery than the book, and had a happier ending (a more typical happy ending, anyway). Now I really want to watch the movie again…

Please leave a comment (or two!) here

