for the first time

Alright, I have to confess that, even though I’m in my mid-twenties (and it still feels weird to say that I’m in my mid-twenties), I have never been to a live concert before. Well, not until yesterday, anyway. Until I saw ‘Wicked’ in March this year, I hadn’t seen a live musical in a theatre before either. It looks like I’m doing a lot of things for the first time this year. (And, no, it looks like I’m not going to end up writing a post for ‘Wicked’ but I think I’ll always think fondly of it as the first musical I ever saw – hopefully the first of many! I’ve got a mental list of all the ones I want to see.)

I listened to a lot of music growing up, and I listend to music a lot. I spent a lot of time listening to the radio and watching those music video shows on TV. With all this considered, I’m actually not entirely sure why I never really wanted to go to a concert. I wouldn’t say that it didn’t appeal to me, but I suppose it was just something that I never wanted enough to actually do something about it. Maybe I thought concerts were too expensive. (I still think concerts can be pretty expensive, but sometimes it’s worth it. I mean, I assume they’d be worth it – I’ve only been to one…)

I suppose something else that also comes into it a bit is that from a very young age, I actually detested the idea of becoming utterly obsessed with someone/something. Please don’t ask me how this developed. I think it was something to do with someone I know getting obsessed over a celebrity (or multiple celebrities?) and I thought it was unjustified or whatever.

Well, anyway, after having pondered over this interesting circumstance in my life, I decided that maybe it was time to do something about it. On a whim, four days before The Script were coming to town on the ‘No sound without silence’ tour, I bought tickets to their concert. Well, ok, it wasn’t completely on a whim (I wouldn’t want people thinking I’m that spontaneously impulsive or something). I had thought about it for a while; I just randomly decided on Tuesday that I should stop thinking and just go for it. It did help that a colleague of mine (and frequent concert-goer) kept encouraging me to buy a ticket. I reckon everyone needs people like that in their lives to push them to do the things that they want to do but are afraid for one reason or another.

Enough of this babbling! Let’s talk about The Script.

I first heard of The Script about seven years ago, when they released ‘Breakeven’ in Australia. Such an incredible song, so full of emotion and pain. Since then, I’ve liked every song I’ve heard from them, and I think that’s a pretty impressive feat considering all the songs they’ve released over these seven-odd years. For anyone who cares, my absolute favourites are ‘The man who can’t be moved’ and ‘Before the worst’. I would list the runner-up songs, but there are too many to name. Oh heck, let’s give it a go anyway – ‘For the first time’, ‘Six degrees of separation’, ‘If you could see me now’, ‘Superheroes’ – Yeah, ok it’s probably easier if you just go look at their discography or something. I do want to say, though, that as of now, I’ve only heard ‘Man on a wire’ twice – once on their website, and once at the concert – and it’s already working its way up the list of favourites.

There are still a lot of songs by The Script that I do not know but perhaps that’s a good thing. I mean, I only just discovered Savage Garden’s ‘California’ earlier this year, and it felt like it was a new release, even after all these years since their dissolution.

I think the only other bands that I’ve consistently liked over many years are Maroon 5 (concert coming up later this year!) and, of course, Savage Garden (safe to say I’ll probably never see them in concert, but love their music all the same).

One final thing: The Script are one of those bands that worked hard for years, slowly climbing up from the bottom, before they made it big. Their support act for the night was a guy called Colton Avery, and he told us a story about how he almost gave up on his music career, and he’d decided that he’d just play one more gig before he “got a real job”, as he put it. You could really hear the sincere gratitude in his voice when he then revealed that this “last” gig was for The Script, for one of their shows in America, and they really liked what they heard, so they decided to help make music his “real job”. It’s just nice to see big-name artists helping out the little guys. I usually don’t care about an artist’s personal life as long as their music is good, but it certainly is a bonus if the artist is a good role model.

Please leave a comment (or two!) here

