nice to meet you (?)

Ever since I changed my “About” page to an “About the blog” page (because I realised that it doesn’t really tell you anything about me specifically – just about my blog), I have been toying with the idea of adding an “About the blogger” page. The only problem is that I don’t really know what I’d put on there. If you’ve seen my Gravatar profile thing, you’ll have an idea of what I mean.

Well, I suppose I could probably write quite a lot, but where would I start? The first thing I think of, of course, is by introducing my profession: I’m a pharmacist. I love my job (mostly) and the people I work with (mostly – nah, I kid, they’re really awesome), so surely this is an important thing to mention? But part of me doesn’t like this notion of “being defined by my profession”. Most people will have preconceptions about pharmacists, but, like any profession, I’m sure we’re quite varied and don’t all fit the stereotypes.

I’ve pondered this previously because if you watch TV shows – whether it be reality TV or game shows or something else that involves people who aren’t famous – everyone is introduced by their name, age and profession. Even in the newspaper, in that section where they have a street poll of randoms, they print the person’s occupation alongside their name and suburb of residence. Is their occupation meant to affect my opinion of their opinion? I suppose it does, particularly if they’re answering a poll about something political or economic or whatever that affects people’s jobs.

On a side note, just wanted to say that, despite the seemingly large number of pharmacists out there in the world, I think I’ve only ever seen one actual pharmacist on a game/reality show before. Maybe we’re just not really the type to go for that sort of stuff…

Anyway, I suppose it’s pretty obvious from browsing my blog that I’m a pharmacist, or at least that I work at a pharmacy. I mean, I write about it enough, don’t I? Sometimes I worry that I talk about work too much to other people, and maybe people would find it boring… I don’t think anyone I work with actually reads my blog, so theoretically I could just ramble on about work here, and spare people from real-life rambling conversations about Pharmacy-related stuff. This is kind of touching on another topic that I was thinking of writing about: the fact that hardly anyone I know in real-life actually reads blogs. I know people on Instagram and Twitter, and everyone (almost everyone) has Facebook, but no one that I know in real-life still regularly maintains a blog, or regularly reads blogs (well, not that I know of, anyway).

I feel like this is becoming a very tangent-y sort of post…

I was also going to say that age – or even just an age range – would be something people might put on an “About the blogger/writer” page, but then I also suppose it’s not that hard to work out that I’m in my 20s, considering I graduated high school less than ten years ago… Although, I guess if all of this stuff was on an “About” page, it’d save visitors the effort of investigating and trying to piece the puzzle together themselves. But then where’s the fun?

Well, I suppose I don’t want people to have some sort of bias for/against what I write because I’m a pharmacist, or because I’m in my 20s. I suppose I also want to preserve some notion of anonymity, so I do not want to disclose my exact age or my location (pretty sure I’ve mentioned Brisbane in enough posts for it to be kind of obvious, though…)

Imagine if the TV world defined everyone by their hobbies or their favourite songs or their pets. What if, when some guy goes on a reality TV show, instead of giving him a little caption that reads “John, 31, journalist”, it reads “John, plays guitar, owns two cats”? He could be all of these things, but the two different captions portray him differently.

A colleague of mine is from Brazil, and he pointed out once that in Australia when you meet someone new, you ask each other about what you do for work. However, in Brazil, they’d ask each other about what they do for fun. I’m sure people work hard in Brazil as well, but, gee, they seem to have their priorities right on this one.

Please leave a comment (or two!) here

