community

One of the things that I really like about blogging, as compared to other forms of writing, is that I can basically just sit down at my computer, open WordPress, and just start typing about whatever the heck I want. There’s minimal planning required; all that’s needed is that little bit of inspiration – that little spark to get the words flowing – and a little bit of time for proofreading/editing at the end.

There was once a time when I thought that a love of reading was always associated with a love of writing, and vice versa. To me, the two seemed inseparable. But I have since met people who love to read, but are quite averse to writing; and people who love to write creatively, but would never choose reading as a past-time. It’s understandable, I suppose, but still baffles me a little bit.

Something else that I’ve come to like about blogging is that it’s a great way to find like-minded people. It can be something as simple as discovering someone with a similar taste in music/books/TV shows, etc. Most of all, however, it’s finding that there’s this whole community of people around the world that love to write. Certainly, it’s nothing new but it’s not something that I’ve really contemplated before – the enormity of the blogging community, that is.

This is the sort of thing that restores my faith in humanity. Ok, that’s probably a bit extreme… but it does make me feel better about the world to know that there are so many readers and writers out there. It makes me feel better in the same way that exchanging a polite smile and nod (and perhaps also a “good morning”) with a complete stranger for no apparent reason other than, perhaps, that it is a good day and you are both in good moods – it is in this same way that that makes me feel better about the world.

Please leave a comment (or two!) here

