story of my life

I don’t usually do those “personality quizzes” that people keep sharing on Facebook because I generally consider them to be a waste of time – not just because they’re probably not incredibly accurate, but also because I usually have other things to do (like browse blogs…)

But when a link appeared on my news feed, asking which classic novel best describes my life, I could hardly resist. Well, I probably could have but, you know, curiosity and all that… And, despite my slow reading progress (I still can’t believe I haven’t finished reading any of my books in so many months), I actually really like to read.

(This might not make sense to a lot of people, but today I randomly had a thought that I could heat-seal and irradiate a novel so that I could read inside the clean rooms at work (not that I go in that often). And then I started to realise all the reasons why it wouldn’t work out – reasons like it’d take a long time to finish the book if I could only read inside the suite – not reasons like it’s an altogether odd idea.)

So, anyway, I took this quiz, on a whim, hoping that my answers would actually point toward a novel that I’ve never read before, hence giving me a fabulous book recommendation in addition to the eleven-question analysis of my life. But I actually got ‘Lord of the Rings’ as my final result, which means my life has something to do with adventure and triumph and blah, blah, blah… I didn’t pay much attention to the description/justification thing at the end. Definitely not because I don’t like LOTR, but because I’ve read the books (and watched the movies!) and I don’t think that my life is anywhere near as epic as they are.

I’m so glad that I bought the trilogy (with matching covers!) at the Lifeline Bookfest earlier this year, though. This is just an added reason to re-read it. I first read LOTR when I was still in school, so I’ve forgotten a lot of what happens. I do, however, remember how awe-inspiring the series was, and just thinking about it makes me so eager to start reading it again.

But I should probably finish my current in-progress books first… And then there’s a novel borrowed from a friend that I should probably read and return before starting something like LOTR… There’s just too many books to read, and not enough time for reading! It’s one of the many frustrations of life…

Out of interest, and because the whole quiz was only eleven questions long, I also did the quiz again with answers that were the complete opposite of my original answers, or at least as far from the truth as possible. Interestingly, I got ‘The Great Gatsby’ as the final result when I did it that way. I’ve never read it before, and people I know who have read it seem to have mixed opinions of the novel, but I actually do want to read it now – if only to juxtapose it with my own life. It is kind of low on the priority list, though, so, who knows, I might never actually get around to it…

Please leave a comment (or two!) here

