a happy place

I was out shopping the other day (Sunday, actually) and I had a bit of time to kill before meeting up with friends, so I naturally went straight to the book store. And it occurred to me that I’ve never written a blog entry about book shops before (at least, not that I can remember), which kind of surprised me, considering that if I’m at a loose end and I’m in the vicinity of a book shop, that is most likely where I’ll end up (assuming it’s within opening hours).

So, here I am to right this wrong. I’m considering creating a series of posts dedicated to this literary happy place, but we’ll see how I go with condensing (cough, cough) everything into this post.

Now, before you go and make hasty judgements about my spending habits (probably a bit late to be saying this because, if your judgements were, indeed, hasty, then you’d surely have already made them by now) let me just clarify that I am by no means a shopaholic or impulse buyer or otherwise too liberal with money. Whether or not this is mostly because I’d have nowhere to store all these books is another matter.

As a side note, I never realised how weird the word “hasty” looks. I’ve probably never had occasion to write it, and it isn’t a word that pops up very often in printed form (or at all). It looks like it should have an -ey ending, seeing as the parent word “haste” has an “e”, but “hastey” doesn’t look any less weird. Well, that’ll be another one to bring up whenever the inevitable “English is the hardest language to learn” / “English makes no sense sometimes” conversation comes up.

Back on topic now… I suppose what led to the realisation about the complete absence of book shop posts was that, as I walked along one of the aisles, I was just thinking about why I like book shops, and I suppose since I like to blog about things I like, my brain somehow linked the two…

Well, considering that I like to read, it might seem obvious why I like book shops. However, considering that I don’t buy many books (usually not unless it is actually for someone else, or if I have a voucher, or if it is ridiculously cheap), biblio-acquisitions are not the sole – probably not even the primary reason behind why I like book shops.

For the one that I frequent the most, I like it because of the atmosphere and the range of books they have and the usual stuff like that (mostly atmosphere, though). I also like that they get their staff to review books and make recommendations. Sometimes the objective with reading book reviews is not necessarily to discover books I might like, but to find that other people agree with my own opinion of a book. Having said that, I really do like discovering new books, even though my list of books to read is already practically unconquerable…

Ok, I’m going to have to end this here, and (maybe) continue this in another post at another time (if I remember). I have a lot of thoughts floating around in my mind, but they’re getting drowned by thoughts of sleep (probably because I had less than six hours’ sleep last night)

Please leave a comment (or two!) here

