when I grow up, I want to be a Dragoneye

It feels like a while since I wrote anything about books here, which is weird because I’ve been reading a lot. Well, actually, for the last week or so I’ve stopped doing the whole read-three-books-at-once thing, and just focused on finishing one of them: ‘The Two Pearls of Wisdom’ by Alison Goodman (also published under the title ‘Eon’ in some countries – the copy I was lent just happened to have the TTPW cover).

This book was also recommended by a friend (the same friend who has a number of other books lined up for me) and I’m actually really glad that she did recommend it because it is an amazing book. There are two things that stand out to me about TTPW, but I want to go through some of the other things I liked about it first.

I feel like there’s a tendency for some fantasy novels to be overly descriptive or caught up with elaborate details, so when I read the blurb and it told me that the story was “inspired by ancient Chinese lore” and is “set in a brilliantly envisioned world”, I had some misgivings about the writing style. But it didn’t take long for me to realise that it wasn’t going to be that sort of fantasy novel. I mean, there’s still a lot of fine detail in parts, but it’s the right amount of detail.

I also like the actual writing style, which just made the novel flow so well. Even being as tired and sleep-deprived as I have been this last week with 7am starts at work, I read through a surprising amount on my daily commutes, which tend to be reserved for daydreaming if I’m particularly tired/stressed.

At this point, I’ve realised that I haven’t actually mentioned what TTPW is actually about. Coincidentally, my next point was that the story is quite original (to me, anyway) and is constructed so well with plenty of twists and turns. I don’t want to give away any spoilers, but it’s basically about a teenager, Eon, who is training to be a Dragoneye (someone who can connect with one of twelve dragons and harness their power). That’s probably not even the bare foundations of it, but it’s kind of a complicated story to explain, which is good because it means that there is depth in the story.

So the things I’ve mentioned so far are all well and true, but above all of these, I noticed that I had two recurring thoughts as I was reading TTPW: (1) This would make a really awesome movie, and (2) Reading this really makes me feel inspired to write.

With so many movies based on novels these days, maybe it’s not a very special thing, but I don’t think I’ve had that thought about a book before (is that strange?) so for me to read TTPW and decide that if someone ever made a movie out of it I would definitely watch it, I think that’s kind of a big deal. As for point #2, that thought is basically a result of all of the good qualities of TTPW. Let’s just hope that the sequel is just as good…!

One thought on “when I grow up, I want to be a Dragoneye

  1. Pingback: rise and fall | secret Garden

Please leave a comment (or two!) here

