just run

As it was a public holiday on Monday, I went out to catch up with some high school friends. I got home at about 5:30pm after a very long lunch and, because it was such perfect weather (and since it’s Summer, the sun would be out for at least another hour), I decided to go for a run.

I was a bit sore the following day, returning to work, but I don’t regret it for a second. It’s one of the best feelings – going for a run in beautiful weather.

That’s something I’ve realised the more I run: I never regret going for a run. I might question whether going for a run would be a good idea, peering at the dark clouds gathering in the sky, or contemplating the humidity and stillness of the air, but once the decision is made and the first steps are taken, I know I’m doing the right thing.

But that’s not to say that every run is brilliant. Just a couple of days prior to the exhilirating Monday run, I thought I’d do a bit of interval running. I had my mind set on running because I’d been lounging around at home all day, but somehow the energy wasn’t quite there. I was still tired from all the running and exercise throughout the week that was, and the humidity was unbelievable. So that endeavour only lasted about half an hour, but I never regretted leaving the comfort of the lounge chair.

Another thing I like about running is that you don’t need any equipment. You just need a half-decent pair of sneakers and some comfortable clothes, and you’re set.

Just writing this and thinking about running makes me want to go for a run. Too bad I have to go to bed soon… I guess I can wait until tomorrow…

Please leave a comment (or two!) here

