busy, busy, busy

Yesterday I finished reading ‘Cat’s Cradle’ (Kurt Vonnegut) and I must say, it has got to be one of the strangest books I have ever read. That’s not to say it wasn’t good. I kind of liked it despite, or perhaps because of the strange storyline and the strange way in which it was written.

I’m really not sure how to start explaining or reviewing ‘Cat’s Cradle’. I felt that it was written in a kind of mechanical/robotic sort of way with none of the flowery descriptive language that some books are overflowing with, but I liked it like that. This was one of the first things I noticed about it.

Probably the second thing I noticed about it was that there appeared to be a lot of random details about random events and whatnot that did not seem important to the overall story. But I read and absorbed all of these details anyway. I suppose some of them were important in the end.

For such a short book, I actually took quite a long time to finish it. This was probably because I only read it in snippets on the bus when I felt like it, and because I had to keep pausing to think about what the heck I’d just read.

If you’re looking for something a bit different, it’s great. If you’re looking for a novel that’s logical and makes sense all the time, then probably not so great for you. But, then again, that might just be me not having a lot of context for the story or something.

 

Please leave a comment (or two!) here

