Friday home day & The Wise Man’s Fear

Had the day off work today (Friday) because I’m working tomorrow instead. Since it’s a week-day, I sort of felt like I should go and do stuff that I wouldn’t usually be able to do since I’m usually working Monday to Friday. But, as it turns out, I didn’t have any errands to run that couldn’t be put off or done on a week-end anyway. So I thought about it and decided I’d rather take it easy and stay at home.

That’s not to say that today hasn’t been productive, though. I did some cleaning, re-arranged stuff to create more space (and chucked out some stuff), did some CPD quizzes, almost finished my tax return, and finished reading ‘The Wise Man’s Fear’ (Patrick Rothfuss).

It feels a bit weird to have finally finished reading that 994-page book. Feels like I’ve been reading it for so long…

The story’s not finished, though. However, it didn’t really leave off at a massive cliffhanger or something. Still, I’ll probably read the next installment when it’s out (I’m assuming it’s not out yet – haven’t heard of it). It’s been a while since I read the first book of the ‘Kingkiller Chronicles’, so there were a few references to previous events that I had to think hard on, but other than that, it stands on its own quite well.

One of the excerpts from a review on the back cover of the book mentions that the story is “completely believable”, and I would quite agree with this. It is a fantasy novel set in a fictional world and time, but everything is constructed and played out so well that it could just as well be a true history of an alternate universe, rather than just a dream of an imaginary world.

Over the last however many weeks of my reading ‘The Wise Man’s Fear’, people have asked me what it’s about, and I’ve found that I’ve had a hard time describing it in such a way that it sounds as good as it actually is, so I don’t think I’m going to attempt to try again here. Suffice to say that if you liked ‘The Name of the Wind’, you should definitely read ‘The Wise Man’s Fear’.

Although, to be completely honest, even though the story does progress, it doesn’t go as far as one might expect it to in 152 chapters. I also found a few random errors throughout the book that must have been missed in the editing/publishing process (but only small things like a word repeating unnecessarily, or an apostrophe in the wrong place).

Well, at least now I can get back to reading just one book (going to put ‘Great Expectations’ on hold until I finish ‘Life of Pi’). It is weird reading a number of books concurrently and then finishing one of them (the largest of the three as well). I almost feel compulsed to start reading another book to keep my reading at maximum capacity (if that makes sense…) but I’ll resist the temptation – try to, at least.

2 thoughts on “Friday home day & The Wise Man’s Fear

  1. I always have two books on the go at any time. I prefer it that way as it feels that I’m maximising my reading capacity. Especially when reading a long book, as you’ve mentioned. I’m reading one book which is over 600 pages and one which is 500 or so pages. It makes me feel good when I can stagger my books as it feels like I can finish them faster. I find that it’s also very draining when finishing a large book. I tend to feel that I’ve invested so much time in that world and I feel a bit sad and bereft when it’s over. 😀

    • Yes, I must say I am very tempted to keep going with this reading-two-books-at-once thing, and your argument/reasoning does sound very logical and very convincing!

Please leave a comment (or two!) here

