what a change

Well, what a change this has been… Yesterday I was out enjoying the beautiful sunshine and unseasonably warm weather at the Regional Flavours Festival, feeling like it was Spring time already, and today the weather has completely turned around so that it’s back to being freezing cold and wet and bleary.

I’m certainly not complaining, though. It seems to be far too often that there’s miserable weather over the week-end, which only clears up with Monday morning sun. It’s kind of nice to have perfect Sunday weather that only turns sour after the week-end has been thoroughly enjoyed.

However, to be fair, although rainy days can sometimes make me quite restless, I do like to use them as an excuse to stay at home, curled up with a good book.

The book I’m reading now is ‘The Wise Man’s Fear’ (Patrick Rothfuss), the sequel to ‘The Name of the Wind’. Actually, I’m kind of reading two books at the same time because ‘The Wise Man’s Fear’ is way too big to be taking to and from work every day, so I’ve been reading ‘Great Expectations’ (Charles Dickens) on my commutes and lunch breaks instead.

I have read ‘Great Expectations’ before but it was such a long time ago that I can hardly remember anything about the novel other than the fact that I really, really liked it. And so, I decided it was about time I re-read it.

I think I’ve mentioned in a previous post that I don’t usually read more than one book at a time, but I’ve found that it’s been ok reading these two together. I assume it’s because they are so different that it’s easier for me to switch my mind between the two. I really want to finish reading ‘The Wise Man’s Fear’, though – not only because it’s due back at the library soon, but also because it’s such a good read. Sometimes I find myself marvelling at how much clever detail is in the characters, the places and the story itself.

Please leave a comment (or two!) here

