happy coincidence

I’ve noticed that people seem to think that I’m a very calm person. Well, I’ve noticed because people have told me so and asked how I can be so calm all the time. Of course, I reassure people that I do actually get stressed out and frustrated at times, even if I appear to be cool, calm and collected.

This got me thinking about the things that make me irrationally angry, and I was thinking of doing a blog post about that, but it seems counter-productive and much too negative – especially after this morning.

This morning was Monday morning – first day of the work-week. I really struggled to get out of bed (about 20 minutes of trying to muster up enough energy to drag myself out of bed compared to my usual five minutes or so post-alarm-clock). Even so, I still managed to leave the house more or less on schedule, but still missed my usual bus, which decided to be slightly early today.

“Not to worry,” I thought. “I can catch a different bus to the train station, and then get the train in to work.” My usual bus route is being scrapped in a couple of weeks, anyway (because, even though the route is clearly very popular amongst the many people who live on the southside and work in the inner-western suburbs, the City Council reckons it’s unnecessary and not sustainable), so I figured I may as well get used to that bus route not existing anymore.

Anyway, this is actually going somewhere. Did you notice the bitterness seeping out in that last paragraph? I don’t know where people get this “calm” impression from..!

Well, anyway, after I got off the bus and was walking through the transit centre to my train platform, I bumped into a friend and former work colleague. This meeting is significant mostly for two reasons: (1) I don’t usually get the train to work in the morning and (2) she usually walks rather than catch public transport. But, as luck would have it, I missed my usual bus, and she was running a bit late and didn’t have time for her usual walk.

This chance meeting, however brief it was (maybe half a minute?), was a happy coincidence, and it was enough to buoy my spirits for the rest of the day (and banish thoughts of publishing negative blog posts). And all that from a smile, a hug and a few kind words.

Sure, there are plenty of things that really piss me off (‘scuse the language) but perhaps my salvation is that I’m pretty good at appreciating even the smallest gestures and happy coincidences.

Please leave a comment (or two!) here

