working it out

Brr.. it’s getting cold… But still not cold enough to need a coat for going to and from work. (And last night I didn’t leave until after 7pm.) I think I kind of know that this isn’t as cold as it’s going to get, so I’m trying to hold off on bringing out my really warm jackets and whatnot. (That’s a logical move, right?)

Anyway, I didn’t actually have work today because I’m working on Sunday. I probably haven’t had a week-day off (excluding public holidays) since I took my annual leave last year, so it was pretty weird not going to work today. I kept thinking that it’s Saturday, and then had to remind myself that everyone else is still at work today, and Saturday is, in fact, tomorrow.

Anyway… Just thought I’d share this video that a friend shared on FB. It’s about the real reasons why people enjoy work, and I thought it was pretty interesting. Dan Ariely makes some very good points about attached/perceived meaning and motivation. Worth watching if you love or hate your job.

Also on the topic of work: Since I was at home all day, I managed to watch almost all of “The Project” (Channel Ten), and they had a quick story about how some researchers in the UK found that people who work together in stressful jobs and/or haveĀ horrible bosses can develop really strong friendships even if they have very little in common outside of work.

I’m not sure how much I can relate to that, but I suppose it sounds reasonable. It’s sort of like being on the same team against a common enemy or something (but maybe not that dramatic). I have previously wondered if I met certain work-friends outside of work, if we would still become friends… but who knows, really…

On a sort of related but only really in a roundabout sort of way, so not really related matter: From my vast experience of sharing buses and trains with fellow commuters, I’ve developed a theory of sorts that if you’ve looked at someone for more than about two seconds (maybe even less than that), chances are you’ve judged them, sized them up or otherwise formed some sort of opinion of them. I’m sure there’ll be a study (or multiple studies) out there that actually shows that people judge other people in very short spaces of time, but most people probably don’t need a study to tell them that.

Please leave a comment (or two!) here

