conscious dreaming

I have been told that my dreams are boring (dream-dreams, not aspiration-dreams, although my aspirations may not be that exciting either) but I have some interesting ones from time to time. Well, I think so, anyway.

Last night’s dream was quite bizarre. I wouldn’t say the events in the dream were particularly amazing or anything, but the actual dream itself was pretty incredible. But I am kind of questioning whether it was a proper dream or more of a semi-dream.

Anyway, in the dream, I was lying in bed – either just about to go to sleep or just woken up (not entirely sure which) – and then I reached over to my bedside clock, picked it up and, for no apparent reason whatsoever, dropped it behind my bed-head. Then there was a brief moment when I considered that maybe I shouldn’t have done that, but I shrugged it off and went back to sleep (this is still in the dream).

The dream seemed so real and I remembered it almost straight away when I woke up this morning, so when I actually woke up, I looked over to my bedside table and, if you will believe it, my clock was no longer there. I hesitated for maybe a second, but when I peered over my bed-head, there was my clock, exactly where I’d apparently dropped it.

I know I couldn’t have been awake when I dropped it because it makes absolutely no sense to do that. Why would I – why would anyone just pick up their bedside clock and drop it behind their bed – not chuck it or swipe at it or smash it – but just drop it. I don’t even use it as my alarm to wake up (that’s what my phone is for – thank goodness I didn’t drop my phone instead). Besides, I woke up before my alarm went off this morning.

I’m sort of wondering if this is in any way related to sleep-walking… But I’m pretty sure I was told, or I read somewhere, that sleep-walkers don’t remember what they did while sleep-walking. Actually, now that I think of it, I think there’s a term for people who act out their dreams… just can’t remember what it is…

But if anyone has other theories on what in the world happened here, they are more than welcome. In the meantime, happy dreaming 🙂

Please leave a comment (or two!) here

