bedtime stories

A few weeks back, I had this weird dream that I was super tired, so I went to bed well before 10pm. That was pretty much the extent of the dream. Yeah, riveting stuff, right? When I woke up from that dream, my first thought was that that was a very strange dream, and then I thought that that would never actually happen because I haven’t gone to bed before 10pm for a very, very long time (maybe primary school? early high school? who knows…)

But you know what? Last night, for some reason, I was just so sleepy that I was falling asleep at my desk, and it wasn’t even 9:30 yet. In fact, even as I’m writing this (before 10pm), I’m feeling quite sleepy (so please excuse me if I’ve missed any spelling or grammatical errors).

But you know what else? Last night, despite all my tiredness, I managed to stay up past 10pm (although, to be fair, it wasn’t that much past 10). Yes, it’s an achievement to defy my own premonitory dreams.

I tend to be pretty good at remembering my dreams the morning after. I’m supposing that this is because I tend to wake up during REM sleep, since I once read somewhere that you can (only?) remember your dreams if you wake up during REM sleep. But (if I remember correctly) you’ll also be more tired if you wake up during REM sleep, as opposed to another stage of sleep. In which case, I need to figure out how to stop waking up during REM sleep.

And while I’m on the topic of sleep, I would just like to say that I am getting sick of seeing articles and studies in newspapers and online and wherever about the ideal number of hours to sleep each night. It seems like every study recommends something different, but when it comes down to it, it just depends on the individual.

Ok, well, it’s past 10, so I think I’ll get ready for bed now.

Please leave a comment (or two!) here

