not in this notebook

I really need to finish my health promotion report… and do my tax return… and submit some more reflections… and read the pre-workshop material… and study for the oral exam…

But because it’s Friday night, I decided not to do any of those things and watched a movie instead.

I was talking to work friends a couple of weeks back about movies, and I mentioned that I have never watched a movie that has made me cry. Maybe I’ve come close a few times, but nothing that really qualifies (or that I can recall easily). One suggestion for a tear jerker was ‘The Notebook’ –  something that has been recommended by others for this purpose as well.

So, anyway, I watched it tonight (instead of doing the multitude of other things that I should be doing because I believe that you should be allowed to slack off on Friday nights without feeling guilty – not that any other day of the week is necessarily associated with any more guilt) and guess what? No tears.

Yeah, it’s a beautiful story and it’s really sweet and all… but maybe I just wasn’t in an emotional enough state to produce the tears that the movie is renowned for.

Watching it, I sort of got the feeling that I’d seen it before – at least the first half-ish – but I can’t remember where or when I watched it. I think I might be confusing it with other movies.

One of the scenes I don’t get in ‘The Notebook’ is when she goes back to him and she’s standing next to her car, holding her suitcases and looking up at him standing on the verandah… And then in the next shot, he’s downstairs and bursting through the front door, but she’s still next to her car and has only just dropped her bags to run to him.

But other than that, I quite liked it. I liked that there were some humourous parts and there were some medical elements, too. I might have to read the book some time.

Meanwhile, it looks like the search continues for a cry-worthy movie…

One thought on “not in this notebook

  1. Pingback: the unexpected tear-jerker | pistachio conspiracy #63

Please leave a comment (or two!) here

