searching

Strangely enough, I’ve sort of felt like studying lately. Am I a nerd? Well, so be it.

I read something interesting in the newspaper the other day about matching the right painkiller to the right type of pain. Most of it I (sort of) knew already, but the section on muscle aches was quite enlightening. I think there’s a general belief that the best thing for muscle aches is an NSAID (ibuprofen, diclofenac, etc – or as you might know them: Nurofen, Voltaren, etc).

But if the pain is mechanical (hurts from movement, better with rest) as opposed to inflammatory (hurts after a bit of rest, better with a bit of movement), then it’s actually preferable to use paracetamol. Well, that’s assuming the pain isn’t that severe.

You know, sometimes I wonder if I should be double-checking this information which comes to me without a references list. Sure, they quote an “expert” or whoever, but how do I know this person is for real?

And then that makes me think of my researching days during semester: trawling through article after article (more like abstract after abstract), trying to find something relevant amongst all the babble. And sometimes I’ll come across articles that are pretty irrelevant, but they seem interesting, and I’d wish I had the time to read them but, alas, no time to spare…

Well, now I have time. But now I’m not motivated to take that first step to open up the database and search for something so that I may be distracted for hours with random articles about random things. Ok, not “hours” exactly (that was more for effect than anything else), but sufficiently preoccupied nonetheless.

I think part of the problem is that I’m not sure what I’d like to read up on. And, besides, it’s just so much easier to just search everything on Google and read about it from there.

On a more cheery note, I’m sure most people noticed the reappearance of blue sky today, however fleeting it was. It started raining when I was halfway home from the bus stop, though. On two other days recently, it started raining when I left the house to go to work (either that, or it was raining so lightly before I left the house, that I didn’t realise it was actually raining).

Did anyone spot a rainbow today? If you’re in the right mindset to receive it, there can be something very uplifting about seeing a rainbow.

Zippity-doo-da, zippity-day
Wonderful feeling, wonderful day

Please leave a comment (or two!) here

