like glue

Ok, so it’s been a while since I wrote anything here, but I have been keeping myself fairly busy. Well, first thing was clearing out unwanted stuff. And then when I was sorting through things, I found this little decoupage container that I’d made in grade 7. Seeing that made me feel like doing more decoupage. For anyone who doesn’t know what decoupage is, it’s basically just gluing paper onto stuff. Ok, maybe that explanation doesn’t quite do justice to it. Well, it’s sort of like paper mache, I guess, and most people know what that is, yeah?

The one I made in grade 7 was from one of those circular plastic takeaway containers. I remember we did several layers of newspaper before going over it with wrapping paper. This time I thought I’d try decoupaging a cardboard box. It’s quite big, actually. Took about two weeks to finish. Of course, I wasn’t working on it non-stop for two weeks, but I worked on it for at least a few hours on most days in that fortnight.

I didn’t get to do quite as many layers of newspaper as I would have liked, but I guess that’s still ok. The box is still fine. And then I’d been wondering whether to go over the whole thing with wrapping paper or just some areas or stick shapes on it. In the end, I wanted to keep some of the newspaper visible (sort of more interesting that way), so I just cut out some shapes from wrapping paper and stuck them on. And then came the varnish. I was quite disappointed at not being able to get spray varnish, which would have made the varnishing part a whole lot easier, but it’s all done now.

Oh, I should mention (actually, I don’t know why I "should" mention, but I’m going to mention it, anyway) I had to make the lid myself because I used an old box with, like, flaps for a lid/cover, but I wanted to make it so that it was one of those boxes where you actually remove the lid. Yeah, that totally makes sense.

Well, after making the box, I decided to cut out some shapes from the left over cardboard and make little Christmas decorations (yes, I’m getting into the spirit of things…..). Put a ribbon through them, went over them with newspaper and then coloured paper. Pretty simple. I finished one of them in just one afternoon. I actually only made two of those. Sorry if it sort of sounded like I made a whole pile of them or something. Well, actually, I cut out and put together two cirlces for a bauble (the third Christmas decoration), but I didn’t get around to finishing that, and think I might abandon that one (for now at least).

Apart from all that decoupage, I have started knitting again. It took me a while to get the hang of it again, though. Mind you, I can’t do anything fancy. But it is a nice way to pass the time. And, no, knitting is not an old person thing. Ageing increases the risk of arthritis, and I think it’d be quite hard to knit with arthritis. I’m taking advantage of the relatively healthy state of my hands.

And in case you were wondering, there is no need to be concerned for my social life. I have been getting out of the house now and then. I’ve been out shopping, had lunch with people, had dinner with people, played tennis, went to Movie World, etc, etc.

2 thoughts on “like glue

  1. OMG OMG OMG you can knit?! TEACH MEEEEE =DI started knitting a scarf when I was little but I never finished it cuz I lost it XD and yeah..kind of forgot how to knitAnd what are you knitting?

Please leave a comment (or two!) here

