food for thought

Epigram of the emotional eater: "I might not have my dignity, but at least I still have my appetite."

I’m not really an emotional eater. I think I’m much too rational for that. But that "epigram" just occurred to me while I was eating dinner earlier tonight. I wasn’t actually even thinking about emotional eating or about dignity or whatever at the time. Just sort of thought of it, and I found the thought quite amusing, so I’m sharing it here.

I don’t really have anything against emotional eating (unless, of course, it’s clearly excessive) or against emotional eaters (unless they adamantly refuse to acknowledge that emotional eating really is not that helpful to the situation). I considered changing the word "dignity" to something else, but I figured thinking too much about it would take away from the amusement of it. And, yes, I am aware that "epigram" does not necessarily fit in that context, but I couldn’t be bothered replacing it either. Besides, alliterations (almost forgot the word for it) sound nice, and it already had the two E’s from "emotional" and "eater".

I should really get back to writing my biom report… but I’ve been working on it for most of today, and I only need about another 300 words… and I’m sort of stuck. Actually, no, I think I need to do a bit more research. It’s just that I’ve already done so much research, and I don’t really want to do any more. Not that I don’t like researching. Can’t spend so many years doing so many humanities subjects and not like researching. But it seems my researching has become so unorganised and slapdash since leaving high school.

It’s times like these that I really miss those inquiry notebooks they’d give us for humanities research assignments. It really helped to organise research and thoughts and ideas so that you could write a well-planned and coherent essay or article or whatever it was you were supposed to be writing. Now I’m just going through massive loads of journal articles, with notes in a Word document. My assignments have become like patchwork – pretty much just sticking in statements and arguments wherever they seem to fit and whenever it occurs to me to put them there.

Do I sound distraught there? I don’t think I’m really that distraught about it all. I can be quite melodramatic sometimes. Keeps things interesting. Of course, I know I could have just gotten some random book and used that as an inquiry notebook, but maintaining and filling out one of those things requires a lot of time (which I don’t have enough of) and a lot of effort (which might be better invested in other matters).

Before I get back to work, though, there are just a few other things to note down. In regards to my previous entry that ended in the apparently not-so-inconspicuous quote: Who would have thought that seven little words could spark off so much speculation? I would clarify what that was about, but I don’t want to ruin the fun of speculating by giving explanations.

Also, thought I’d give a quick mention to the Lions, who won their first away game since round 8 last season. Yes, I was quite shocked when the commentators today said that the Lions hadn’t won a match away from the Gabba in so long. It was quite a comfortable, come-from-behind win today against Richmond at the MCG. I only watched parts of it, though (when I was eating lunch, and then again when I was eating afternoon tea). I was much too busy working on my biom report, after all.

2 thoughts on “food for thought

  1. lol nice and long entry Sharon! ^-^ haha.. funny, epigram for emotional eaters……. hm… I should be studying too. Clearing out the entire day to do some serious study, actually.

  2. sharon!!!! i misss you sooo muchi feeeel so saddd coz lucas is not goin to get married to her…..watch My Queen and u\’ll know…saad :(NOOO

Please leave a comment (or two!) here

