to market, to market

Market day was fun, wasn’t it? Coming home yesterday, I felt like a kid coming home from trick-or-treat-ing – only, instead of candy and chocolates, I had two minute noodles and ice tea (not to mention the loads of donuts and fliers and vouchers and things of the like).

I think I should be sick of hearing my own voice now. Spent so much time talking. If I wasn’t talking to total randoms about GC (Global Connect), I was on the phone talking to not-so-random randoms. And even after uni, I had to go to work and talk some more. At least I didn’t have to take so many calls – just sat there sleeping or staring at the ceiling mostly.

Helping out with o-week was such awesome-fun, though – like the first year pharmacy tours on Tuesday. Seemed like we had too many willing tour guides and not enough eager first years. But that doesn’t matter. It’s so tempting to make up stuff about the place to freak them out, though. I just realised that we forgot to say all that stuff about the campus not seeming so big after you’ve been there a while (it was in our tour outline thing) … woops…

It was nice of the GC people to let me go wander around putting up posters and handing out fliers on market day. Gave me the chance to go look at all the other clubs and societies, and to just go wandering around campus, so that I didn’t have to stand around pretending to be busy. (Of course, by “pretending” I don’t actually mean “pretending”. There was no need for pretending to be busy.)

There’s actually something quite comfortable in talking to people you doubt you will ever see again. Or maybe it’s not that, but the fact that you’ve just never met them before and never talked to them before. I read somewhere once that “people pleasers” tend to talk in second person – using “you” instead of “I”. Ever since I read that, I’ve been really conscious of using “you” instead of “I”. Of course, being a people pleaser is not a totally bad thing – it’s just not such a great thing either.

For some reason, I just find it really amusing when people at the call centre say things like “see you later” when, clearly, they are not going to be seeing the customer later, and, seeing as we take calls from all over Australia, are quite unlikely to ever see them at all. Well, at least, if they ever do see each other, it would be quite unlikely for them to even know they had that conversation. But it’s a natural thing to end a conversation on, so it’s understandable.

Work is such a great source of amusement. I like how some customers seem to be annoyed by call takers being nauseatingly nice, so they’re nauseatingly nice back to us. I certainly don’t mind it, though. They’re better than the people who don’t even think it’s worth their time to be dealing with us, and hence talk in this expressionless tone. But I’m sure they’re real busy or whatever.

It’s also nice when people call up to make complaints, but you can tell that they don’t really want to make a big fuss about it. I mean, it’s fair enough for them to expect to get what they paid for, so they should be calling up, but it’s nice that they don’t want to cause us too much trouble. I also quite like the callers who feel bad when I start apologising to them – they’re nice people.

Hmm… I was supposed to be writing about o-week, but somehow ended up writing about work. Suppose that’s because I’ve been thinking quite a bit about work lately. And that is probably because I just handed in my resignation letter yesterday. It was bound to happen sooner or later. Nothing against the place, really. I just figured I wanted a change.

So… anyway… market day was good. Whenever I’m approached by a club I’m not interested in, I usually just take a flier and tell them I’d have a think about it and come back later. Of course, I don’t really intend to go back – just trying to be polite. Helping out at the GC stall, I noticed a few people doing the same sort of thing, and I knew they wouldn’t be back. Was just wondering if the people I say that stuff to also know I’m not actually going to be coming back. They probably do.

4 thoughts on “to market, to market

  1. lol. market day was fun, yes. Totally agree. Suppose, though.. it was quite crowded and stuff.. but yeh, freebies were sweet as. I like uni when it\’s not so crowded.. haha, but then, lol, *shrugs*. So you did end up handing in your resignation letter.. hmmm… not working at all during the semester? lol. last night i did another 9 hour shift. Realized it IS kinda tiring… despite the fact that i was just sitting with a buddy for 1 hour and listening to calls (which were. amusingly 75% just leaving voice mail)…. So yeah, will have to cut back on hours majorly during the semester. But I think I\’ll stick to the job. 🙂 See you around uni (lol.. when i say "see you", I mean it! :D)

  2. Gah, I didn\’t get any free doughnuts..If you get people who are \’nauseatingly nice\’, well, if I were in your situation, I wouldn\’t be very glad, because clearly they are being pretentious. I\’d rather talk to the people in an \’expressionless voice\’, but then again it may be because I am one of those? hahahahahhaYeah, I always say that to those pesky HK sales people who keep bugging you to buy stuff.. they know that I won\’t come back if I say I\’ll think about it, because they look either disappointed or very angry and their whole expression changes.

  3. well i do take a few call at my resto… i\’d be glad to get the call from those people who said stuffs in the nice tone altho onli if they\’re sincere and u can tell when they\’re not. I dont mind the expressionless voice too… that way it makes the convo pretti concise and quick… i mean.. sometimes i even got amazed about how i could manage to finish a convo with less than 11 seconds and i got a sheet of paper indicating what they want. And well.. the "I\’ll think about it" is a pretti obvious rejection …. eventhough it doesnt sound too clear but from experience it just implies as much. One once said that to me, altho one put "literally" at the end so at least for that bit, it made me feel better ^^"

  4. Lol – not enough eager first years. I\’m sure most first years wouldn\’t be eager until they find out what uni is like. I don\’t remember feeling too eager about uni the first couple of weeks either. And I didn\’t get my 2-min noodle! Ok, I shouldn\’t complain coz I didn\’t even line up for the bag. But I took my fair share of Lipton Ice Tea. Mmmm….I think I use "see you later" coz it ends the convo in a nicer tone then just a plain "goodbye". You quit??!! OMG Sharon, you quit! Why?? Ok, maybe you just don\’t need the money… but still, I think you should still work (if not at the call centre) during the semester. It gives you something different to do other than uni.

Please leave a comment (or two!) here

