cravings…? pshaw~

I wouldn’t say that the last few days have been all too eventful or anything like that, but I suppose enough has been happening to keep me preoccupied and amused. Haven’t had a full day at home since Monday, when, really, I should have had at least two. Well, I had planned to have at least Thursday and today (Saturday) at home, but that didn’t really end up happening.

In previous holidays, I reckon the majority of my days were spent solely at home. Don’t think I could say the same for these holidays. Not that that’s such a shame or anything. It’s just that going out a lot isn’t really conducive to saving for retirement. Yeah, sure, it might be a bit early to be thinking about retirement, and, to be honest, I’m not sure that I even want to retire early, but it doesn’t hurt to save up, does it?

In retrospect, it seems that Tuesday was a day of firsts for me. Was my first time going to Bretts Wharf, the restaurant at which Alastair McLeod is the executive chef. I’m sure anyone who actually knows who he is would appreciate the awesome-ness of the visit. Unfortunately, though, it is my belief that he wasn’t there on the day, because he was down in whatever city the set of ‘9am with David and Kim’ is in. But, no matter. That’s not important.

What is important is that the restaurant was open for lunch on Tuesday, and they were doing dessert, and creme brulee was on the dessert menu. For those of you not acquainted with my creme brulee craving, let me explain. See, some time before heading off to Melbourne in January, I had some creme brulee chocolate, which was pretty darned good. Then, while I was actually in Melbourne, I had some creme brulee ice-cream, which was also pretty darned good. Is everyone seeing the connections now? (Hazelut ice-cream is also pretty darned good. Tried it for the first time while down in Melbourne. There’s a whole story behind that, but I’ll save it for another time.)

So, anyway, I’d had all these wonderful creme brulee flavoured things, but had never actually had actual creme brulee. So, when I got back in Brisbane, I decided to go search for somewhere that served creme brulee. I cannot even describe my delight when I found out that Bretts Wharf had it. And so it came to be that I had my first creme brulee on Tuesday at Bretts Wharf with Angel. And, I am happy to say, I was far from disappointed with it.

Among the other firsts on Tuesday were eating Moreton Bay bugs for the first time ever, and staying at uni until about 8pm for the first time since I don’t even remember when (probably since the day of a certain exam I won’t mention). Sure, the last first doesn’t really count because it’s not a first-ever, but surely no one is pedantic enough to care. If you’re wondering why I was at uni so late during the holidays, I can tell you that I was actually there doing a puzzle. And, no, it was not some sort of uni-course-related puzzle. It was just a jigsaw puzzle. Actually, come to think of it, that would be my first time doing a puzzle at uni.

Well, wasn’t Tuesday fun? Think I should move on to Wednesday, though. I probably could have blogged about Tuesday on Wednesday, and dedicated an entire entry to it, but, see, I was sort of busy on Wednesday. And, as seems to have become the trend lately, I didn’t have plans for Wednesday until some time on Tuesday.

Perhaps the highlight of Wednesday was going to that cupcake place at West End. Don’t remember how long I’ve been craving cupcakes for – think it must have been since sometime last year or even the year before when I saw all these fancily-designed cupcakes that looked too good to eat. Naturally, I had a chocolate one – "Marbleous" they called it, and marvellous it was.

Thursday was meant to be my stay at home day. Well, that’s what I was thinking right up until I got a certain text message when I was just about to drop off to sleep. And so, on Thursday morning, I headed out to the City. It seemed that everyone was out in the City that day or something, because I saw so many people I know.

Anyway, I spent some time at the library browsing though the shelves. I really wanted to read a novel that was actually written some time within the last five years or so. I like to keep variety in my reading, and I figured that I’d been reading too many of the classics these holidays, and needed something different. I ended up borrowing ‘Tuvalu’ by Andrew O’Connor and ‘Avoiding Mr Right’ by Anita Heiss (will probably write more on that in another entry).

After a quick wander around the City with Angel, headed to South Bank to watch ‘Transporter 3’. Seems that consensus on that movie was that it was not worth watching. I thought it was ok, but maybe that’s just a politeness thing because I was invited to go watch it, and also a something-else-thing (can’t think of the word for it – and, no, it’s not "stingy" or something like that) because I paid to watch it.

Friday I had work until 4pm. Was a pretty quiet shift, so I spent a lot of time just reading in between calls. Went grocery shopping afterwards. Actually got some raisin toast. It’s been so long – too long since I’d had some raisin toast.

Today was also supposed to be an at-home-day, but my uncle randomly decided to take us for a drive to Inala because my aunty had to see a physio there, and he wanted to get some groceries and things, too. I suppose I could have not gone, but I figured I might as well.

For those of you who think this entry is ridiculously long, you should know that I could have easily made this much, much longer. But I’m tired. And I think if you’ve read to the end of this, you must be pretty darned tired, too. Kudos to you for persevering, though!

3 thoughts on “cravings…? pshaw~

  1. oh wow, u know what? this is actually the first time i managed to read every single words on ur entry [so be proud hahaha] and yea i agree, knowing u, if ure really into it, u could really make something like 10 000 words =P and really, i think i shud try creme brulee sometimes >.> cuz from the impression i got it off your blog, it should be really good.

  2. haha. From what I hear, everyone\’s going out everyday nowadays. That\’s good.. consumption injects money into the economy… always good to support the Australian economy (esp during these times!) good to hear you\’re having fun… haha, Sharon, you should become a writer someday. 😀 Newayz, catch ya later!

Please leave a comment (or two!) here

