wei~!

I have been saying that word way too much lately. I reckon it’s replaced so many words in my vocabulary. Not sure exactly when this “wei” thing started but it must end!
Don’t think I used it much on the plane ride over, even though that was more horrible than expected. It was friggin’ freezing cold and I got this real bad headache (yeah, the word “friggin'” popped into my head a few times on the way over). Let’s hope it is a one-off bad experience with planes. It wasn’t actually THAT bad. They (Virgin Blue) had them personal screen thingos to let you watch Foxtel stuff (didn’t really pay attention, though, because of headache and all). And then they had this map thingo to let you see where we were flying over at that point in time (we went over Dubbo and all them central NSW towns and whatever). And I was just following the speedometre thingo that averaged like 800km/h and, because I thought it was the speed/velocity (damn Physics-ly correct terminology!) that caused my headache, I kept death-staring at it (when I wasn’t sleeping or pretending to sleep so that the flight attendant people wouldn’t bother me) and trying to make the plane go slower or drop to a lower altitude, which, clearly, was impossible but it was worth a try. (Don’t quite remember but I think we stayed at 10,000m for most of the flight.)
Well, now I am here at my uncle and aunty’s house in Pascoe Vale. If anyone just so happens to be in the neighbourhood, feel free to drop by. There’s not much to do in this crazy gigantic city. Driving anywhere takes forever, which is OK by me but we mostly only ever drive to relatives’ houses. (Man, I have relatives I never knew I had before. My family tree’s probably all complicated and messy – even if you only put people who are in Melbourne on it.) So, yeah, driving around to people’s houses, giving them chocolates or whatever and sitting around talking for ages. Then you go eat at some place and talk some more.
Writing about driving reminds me of how I haven’t driven for ages. Probably have to go get used to sitting behind the wheel again. And writing about writing reminds me of how I haven’t worked on that story I’m supposed to be working on for ages. I finished the first chapter a few days before coming down here and haven’t really done much with it since – just trying to think of character names. I’ve been using fashion designers and labels and stuff like “Theodore and Scanlon” and “Abercrombie and Fitch”. Not that I actually have any idea what the heck those designers have actually designed. And street names can be useful, too – Brewster, Murray, Lillian, etc.
I suppose I ought to tell everyone that bothers reading this what I got offered by QTAC seeing as I haven’t told anyone except family because I did fly over here on the 10th and didn’t even get a chance to ask anyone (and didn’t even manage to get a hold of ‘The Courier Mail’ to look up what everyone’s doing without having to go around asking everyone). But I don’t think I will publish it here. Undoubtedly, SOMEONE has managed to get ‘The Courier Mail’ from January 11 and has looked at it. If not, too bad for everyone.
I think I will go do something else now.
One thought on “wei~!

  1. Ahahahahha!!! Yeh, the speedometre. I was looking at it too during plane ride to China and back. The information also included the temperature outside (which was like – 42 C). I guess we were pretty high up.
    I had a dream about u last night (that\’s why i\’m writing a comment..). We were apparently in the same uni, working in the computer lab. There were two people behind us. A man and a woman (both adults – late 40s). I was logging when suddenly, I had a feeling the man was going to kill us (I think we were witness of a murder crime he committed). So I signalled you and we both RAN! I don\’t think we got far…probably only to the next building, because by that time the dream was already becoming fuzzy (like all dreams do when u\’re about to wake up – except for nightmares where u SUDDENLY wake up). But I\’m pretty sure we didn\’t die.
    CONCLUSION: don\’t know why i dreamt of u but it was a fun dream! 🙂

Please leave a comment (or two!) here

